Konnyaku no Tosani

Konnyaku no tosani

Konnyaku no tosani

When I was writing up my last post about konnyaku, I got hungry for it again, so I chose it for this meal. Yusuke and I tagged-team to prepare Just Hungry’s recipe for Konnyaku no Tosani. Yusuke even figured out how to make the cool twisty konnyaku strips. Basically, we just boiled the konnyaku, changed the water, and then boiled it with more water and dashi, soy sauce, mirin, sake, and ginger. We ate it topped with more ginger, sesame seeds, green onions, and bonito flakes. Our accompanying soup was miso with wakame and tofu. Yusuke also decided he needed fried eggs to slake his hunger after kendo practice.

This post also marks a new era of better food photos. We had planned to buy a new digital camera in Japan, but the loonie is absolutely wretched against the yen at the moment, so it was less expensive to just buy one here (Yusuke managed to find something suitable amidst the stone age technology of North America). I still have lots of old pictures kicking around that I might use, but the photography will, I hope, improve.

Konnyaku and miso soup

Konnyaku and miso soup

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said

    Stone age technology is right! I had a meeting with two repository manager/librarians the other week and they made me feel all ashamed for north america’s technology.

    Anyway – at some point, maybe next year, when you two come up to Ottawa (or when I come down to Montreal) I want a crash course in cooking and buying ingredients. I found a Japanese grocery store here, and the lady is very helpful, but I still don’t know what I’m doing.

  2. uinen said

    Yusuke would like to point out that the camera was in fact imported from Japan…there were just fewer choices here in Canada…

    We will be most pleased to give shopping and cooking advice. Come visit soon!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Comments are closed.

