Asparagus and zucchini stir fry

Asparagus and zucchini stir fry

Asparagus and zucchini stir fry

This is a stir-fry that I whipped up based on a recipe in my beloved Starving Student’s Vegetarian Cookbook. First, I blanched the asparagus, then sauteed it with zucchini and pine nuts. I added a bit of garlic, ginger, and red pepper flakes to the recipe. I like to start a stir fry with a splash of vegetable (or chicken) broth instead of oil, and it worked well here. The flavouring is just soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, and black pepper. The pine nuts made it particularly tasty, especially with the crunchiness of the asparagus. The accompanying miso soup had abura-age and green onions. I think I put rather too much age; it looks like it’s about the explode out of the bowl.

Comments are closed.

