Portobello sandwiches and quinoa soup

Portobello sandwich

Portobello sandwich

In the interest of equitable division of labour, I try to cook on the weekends, and this was one of the meals that I prepared recently. The sandwich looks a bit, erm, funky in the picture, but it tasted good. I marinated the portobello mushrooms for several hours in soy sauce and red wine vinegar (equal parts of each) and some olive oil. I also added a bit of salt, black pepper, and generic Italian seasoning. Then I grilled them on our George Foreman grill. The sandwich rolls were freshly baked from Wawel, the Polish pâtisserie just up the street from our apartment. (The sign in the window says: “Meilleur beigne au monde”—”Best donut in the world”.) I put some baby spinach on my sandwich, and I usually add raw white onions, too, although I forgot this time. Yusuke put mayonnaise (ugh) on his.

I absolutely, positively adore quinoa. What a fabulous miracle food. Unfortunately, Yusuke isn’t so chuffed about it. He doesn’t dislike it, but he prefers rice. So I decided to use quinoa in a soup rather than in a stir fry or salad. It has vegetable broth with fresh green pepper, carrots, white onions, and tomatoes, seasoned with salt, pepper, parsley, and white wine. It came out well, although I could have cooked the quinoa separately and added it to the soup when it was served to keep the texture a bit firmer. But it still had its fluffy, bubbly goodness.

Quinoa soup

Quinoa soup

Comments are closed.

